31 October - 09:00 - Cinéma Paramount

IL PLEUVAIT DES OISEAUX

Louise Archambault

Canada | V.O. French | 2018 | 127 min | DCP | color | Fiction

Thursday, October 31 - 9 a. m. - $ 5
Cinema Paramount
155 Perreault Street East, Rouyn-Noranda

MORNING EXCHANGE WITH JOCELYNE SAUCIER
PRECEDED BY THE PRESENTATION OF IL PLEUVAIT DES OISEAUX
With his novel Il pleuvait des oiseaux, published in 2011, the author of Rouyn-Noranda Jocelyne Saucier has become an ambassador for Abitibi-Témiscamingue on the international scene. Her work captivated the public as soon as it was released and won numerous awards. Translated into 15 languages, it has been warmly welcomed by readers and critics alike. Her adaptation for the screen, directed by Louise Archambault, was launched at the Toronto International Film Festival last September and seems also poised for a great run.

The Festival offers festivalgoers the chance to see or review the work of Louise Archambault and then discuss with Jocelyne Saucier. Hosted by Jolyne Lalonde, this meeting will allow the public to discover the author's vision of the big screen adaptation of her successful novel, but also on this great adventure that Il pleuvait des oiseaux has been since its publication.

IL PLEUVAIT DES OISEAUX
Three old hermits live reclused in the woods. As forest fires threaten the region, their daily lives will be turned upside down by the death of their elder, Boychuck, and the arrival of an octogenarian who has been unfairly locked up all his life. A photographer appointed to interview the witnesses of the deadliest fires of the time finds their lair. The two women will make the astonishing discovery of hundreds of Boychuck paintings that tell his tragic past during these fires. Il pleuvait des oiseaux is a story of intertwined destinies where love has no age, where life takes root again in unexpected fertile grounds.

Distribution
Director Louise Archambault
Music David Ratté et Andréa Bélanger, Will Driving West
Cinematographer Mathieu Laverdière
Screenplay Louise Archambault
Cast Andrée Lachapelle, Eric Robidoux, Eve Landry, Gilbert Sicotte, Rémy Girard
Production Outsiders Films
Distribution MK2 | MILE END

31 octobre - 09:00 - Cinéma Paramount

IL PLEUVAIT DES OISEAUX

Louise Archambault

Canada | V.O. française | 2018 | 127 min | DCP | couleur | Fiction

Jeudi 31 octobre - 9 h - 5 $
Cinéma Paramount
155, rue Perreault Est, Rouyn-Noranda

ÉCHANGE MATINAL AVEC JOCELYNE SAUCIER
PRÉCÉDÉ DE LA PRÉSENTATION D’IL PLEUVAIT DES OISEAUX
Avec son roman Il pleuvait des oiseaux, paru en 2011, l’autrice de Rouyn-Noranda Jocelyne Saucier est devenue une ambassadrice de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue sur la scène internationale. Son oeuvre a captivé le public dès sa sortie et a remporté de nombreux prix. Traduit en 15 langues, il a été accueilli chaleureusement tant par le lectorat que par la critique. Son adaptation pour l’écran, réalisée par Louise Archambault, a été lancée au Festival international du film de Toronto en septembre dernier et semble sur le point de vivre lui aussi une belle carrière.

Le Festival offre donc la chance aux festivaliers de voir ou de revoir l’oeuvre de Louise Archambault et d’échanger ensuite avec Jocelyne Saucier. Animée par Jolyne Lalonde, cette rencontre permettra au public de découvrir la vision de l’autrice face à l’adaptation de son roman à succès en film, mais également sur cette grande aventure qu’a été Il pleuvait des oiseaux depuis sa parution.

IL PLEUVAIT DES OISEAUX
Trois vieux ermites vivent reclus dans le bois. Alors que des incendies de forêt menacent la région, leur quotidien sera bousculé par la mort de leur doyen, Boychuck, et l’arrivée d’une octogénaire qui a été injustement internée toute sa vie. Une photographe mandatée pour interviewer les témoins des feux les plus meurtriers de l’époque trouve leur repaire. Les deux femmes feront l’étonnante découverte de centaines de tableaux de Boychuck qui racontent son passé tragique lors de ces feux. Il pleuvait des oiseaux est une histoire de destins croisés où l’amour n’a pas d’âge, où la vie reprend racine dans des terreaux inattendus.

Distribution
Réalisation Louise Archambault
Musique David Ratté et Andréa Bélanger, Will Driving West
Photographie Mathieu Laverdière
Scénario Louise Archambault
Interprétation Andrée Lachapelle, Eric Robidoux, Eve Landry, Gilbert Sicotte, Rémy Girard
Production Outsiders Films
Distribution MK2 | MILE END